Next Time!

Something that happened recently reminded me of my school days.

Some of you may have read my flash fiction stories. These were written as a part of contest submission and around 5 days back the results were announced… I did not win. Don’t be smug that you second-guessed; ofcourse I did not win or else this post would have been titled I Rule All… or something to that effect. Not the first prize, neither second, nor even the third. I was shocked.

Grudgingly I went and had a look at the winning entries (more to find fault than anything else, really). This is what I found.

Nina: It was getting dark when the Pandava Princes returned home. Bhima, prankster that he was, shouted from the door – ‘Mother look, we have brought you a surprise.’ Kunti replied without looking up – ‘just cut it into five pieces….’, Kunti smiled in her sleep that night. She had averted a great war.

Krishnakumar Sankaran: There I was, freezing my lungi off on some bloody peak, muttering sweet nothings at that motu Brahma to get his fat tush off that lotus and do a proper day’s work for once in his life. And what does he give me? “You’ll only die by the hands of a human.” Cheater, saala.

B S Keshav: “Ha! The jerk accepted the fake notes without even checking” Shekhar walked out of the shop, clutching the box, barely able to suppress a grin.
Afzal watched the young man disappear and counted the notes gleefully. “What a fool! Wait till he opens the box and finds stones instead of a cell phone”

Nina ranked First, Krishnakumar Sankaran Second, and B S Keshav Third.

So the reason this reminded me of my school days was that even during the school days my teachers did not agree on the answers I gave.

Well this time around I concede defeat but then there is always a ‘next’ time… He He He [Evil Laugh], perseverence counts!

2 thoughts on “Next Time!

  1. oh come on…!! mail de organisers, urs was way better..!! al de best for de next…u rock WITHOUT A DOUBT….tc

  2. oh come on…!! mail de organisers, urs was way better..!! al de best for de next…u rock WITHOUT A DOUBT….tc

Leave a Reply

